Wednesday, April 3, 2019

In the Last Ten Years, at Least Nine U.S. States Have Strengthened Their Laws Against Assisted Suicide/Euthanasia

Margaret Dore published this list of legislative and judicial victories to counter the media narrative that the United States is legalizing assisted suicide.

Alabama Governor, Kay Ivy
In the last ten years, at least nine states have strengthened their laws against assisted suicide/euthanasia. They are (alphabetical):
  1. Alabama: In 2017, Alabama enacted the Assisted Suicide Ban Act; 
  2. Arizona: In 2014, Arizona strengthened its law against assisted suicide. 
  3. Georgia: In 2012, Georgia strengthened its law against assisted suicide. 
  4. Idaho: On April 5, 2011, Idaho strengthened its law against assisted suicide. 
  5. Louisiana: In 2012, Louisiana strengthened its assisted suicide/euthanasia ban. 
  6. New Mexico: In 2016, the New Mexico Supreme Court overturned a lower court decision recognizing a right to physician aid in dying, meaning physician assisted suicide. Physician-assisted suicide is no longer legal in New Mexico. See Morris v. Brandenburg, 376 P.3d 836 (2016). 
  7. Ohio: In 2017, Ohio strengthened its law against assisted suicide. See 
  8. South Dakota: In 2017, the South Dakota Legislature passed Concurrent Resolution 11, opposing physician-assisted suicide. See Bill History. 
  9. Utah: In 2018, Utah amended its manslaughter statute to include assisted suicide. For more information, see and click “status.”
The media promotes the legalization of assisted suicide but it ignores the success in preventing euthanasia and assisted suicide.

No comments: